Skip to content

What a great idea!

March 26, 2010

I like it so much when a new idea hits me! It’s pretty much one of the best feelings. : )

Anywho.

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at sewing paper. {Weird, right? } But, I don’t think I’m the only one who has wanted to try this-

Prudence Brooch

This piece is what sparked the idea to sew paper. Don’t you like it?!? And what makes my new idea even better is that I have the cutest paper to try it on!

I would like to try it with the pages from some retro cookbooks that my Nana gave me. Now, I don’t have one that looks like this, but I have some that look very similar. I like the art work in these books so much. They are so cute!

I also have some retro story books.

The art work in these are great too.

Can’t wait to try this idea out! I know it’s a pretty vague one, but I’m sure I’ll come up with something cute to do with my stitched paper. If I’m brave enough, I may even try my very first DIY! Wouldn’t that be a great way to kick off my spring break project week?

Stay tuned….

<3M

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2010 4:05 am

    ohh, what a darling book! i think your idea sounds SO GOOD. i can’t wait to see what you make! F’REALS! pictures pictures? you can’t go wrong with such a good idea and a book as cute as that!

  2. March 28, 2010 4:44 am

    hiiii! so exciting that your spring break kicked off yesterday! is this the first of your craft ideas? i can’t wait to see your list and all your projects! what do you plan on doing? i love the girl you have, she’s cute! are you starting up a business with her, or are you just crafting? 🙂

    • March 29, 2010 12:26 am

      Yeah, I’m pretty excited about my week too! I just posted my project list, so I hope you’ll check it out. : )

      Oh, I’m glad you like my girl! I’ve been drawing her for years. Although, she’s gotten a little more refined with time. : ) I would love to open an Etsy shop with her…. that’s my goal at least.

      Thanks so much for reading!

      <3M

  3. March 28, 2010 11:43 am

    I’ve never stitched paper with a machine, but I have embroidered thick paper stock. Very time consuming. I’m too afraid it’ll push paper bits into my machine. Let us know how is goes!

    • March 29, 2010 12:31 am

      Wow. I bet that was time consuming! I’m using the pages from an old story book right now. I’m going to start scanning the pages though… I should probably make sure I scan the drawings onto thicker paper. The small pieces I have stitched have turned out great! I outlined one (flower) then stitched an “x” through the other. I’m afraid I’m dulling my needle and I hadn’t thought about the paper bits… yikes! Thanks for the heads up!

      <3M

Leave a Reply

